Two Parts Casual, One Part Hardcore, and a Little Bit O’ Love

I was reading a post at Under the Banner today (a great blog – this author hasn’t written much lately but her post explains why) and got to thinking about the true definition of LotRO. It’s Lord of the Riblets, in case you were wondering.

Anyways, the post really broke down how the author has been feeling lately. In short, full of boredom, hope, and disdain all at once. The author, Serielle, is suffering burn out in a big way. She says a couple of things that shed some light into her current state of affairs. Here’s one:

So, I started to run the repeatable quests in Lothlorien, since that’s the only way to get rep and the shiny gold leaves. Over, and over, and over, and over, and over… ad infinitum. I didn’t do it every time I logged in, and tried to intersperse other activities into the grindfest . . . It just wasn’t enough though.

This, I think, is a universal conditional that results from working at a game instead of playing it. Now, I believe her when she says that she’s not hardcore. As a matter of fact, her self-branding of casual-hardcore seems true to form and eerily reminiscent of my own play style. So, this isn’t an attack in any way.

The fact of the matter is that games like LotRO want you to work. That’s where they hide the barbs and hooks that define our passion. That may seem like a little much but is it not true that accomplishment is the result of effort? That more effort generally equals more accomplishment? So, logically, the more we invest, the more fulfilled we are (to a degree, of course). Yet, the downside to such design is that, inevitably, people will get worn out.

It’s a funny thing, even though LotRO is considered a casual game, it also has the most antiquated hardcore element much more than other “harder” games: grind. Grind is infused throughout the game in the form of deeds. Grinding for xp and grinding for traits are some of the core ways that you’ll advance your character. After that’s done, you grind for reputation, or crafting materials, or gear.

Grinding, in itself, isn’t much of an issue. It’s all about presentation. How you go about your grind, what and where you find your target, and how much carotene dangles in front of you all define the experience. If those three things are worthwhile and in-sync, grinding can actually be relatively stress free.

Yet, that’s not really how we have it. It causes me to wonder why grinding plays such a big role in the game? Was this the best way? I think it was the workable way. The way to slow people down and keep them playing for longer and, to make it worthwhile, they intertwined the grind with character advancement. Now, we have a system that’s more progressive (advancement/customization through effort) than most, yet harkening to the grand ol’ days of our grand pappy’s mammies.

You know, 2003?

In our oh-so-casual love affair with Middle-Earth, many of us grind away the hours, while the WoW’ers call us scrubs. Ironic isn’t it?

For all of pressure to work there is much play. More than that, you can tell that a lot of love went into the game. There are so many little details that get taken for granted but, through the eyes of the un-jaded, they are really quite wonderous.

For myself, I’m behind the game enough to have a long, long time before I’ll run out of things to do. I’m thankful for that. And, unlike many, I really don’t mind the grind. So, I wish the author the post. Give it some time. Relax and try out some warmer waters for while. From my own experience, I can say that you’ll probably never get that “feeling” back the way it once was. But you’ll find fun again, if you want it.

11 Responses

  1. Hi there! This is a great post, and I agree with everything you’ve written. You’re very right in saying that I’ll find fun again with the game after a bit of a break, because LOTRO really is one of the best MMOs out there right now. That’s why it’s so heartbreaking for me to have hit that wall, but I look forward to jumping in again once I’m able to enjoy myself a bit more when I log in.

    I’m glad you wrote about “the grind”, and the fact that you gain nothing if you do not put forth any effort. That’s a big reason why a lot of folks play MMOs, because you have this character, that you can mold, shape, and advance to your liking. If you don’t put forth the effort, what do you have to show for it? It can be satisfying in many ways to look at your character and be proud of your accomplishments. It’s equally interesting to talk about how we all percieve “the grind”. If a gamer is honest with themselves, they’ll realize that every game has it, but some games disguise it better than others.

    I think this is one of the things that led me to that wall I talk about. In SoA, advancing my character didn’t feel like work. It was fun, the quests were designed well, and there was a natural flow. I noticed that in MoM, and especially Book 7, that flow was replaced with much more obvious grind-work. Here’s to hoping that Book 8 and beyond will bring back that natural feeling flow.

    Thanks again for your insightful post, and I’m eager to hear what others think in the days to come.

    😀

    • Hey Serielle!

      I’m glad you stopped by and enjoyed my post. I thought yours was very interesting and well written too. It got me thinking, hehe. I’m hoping people stop by and share their thoughts too but, to be honest, this blog is still pretty new, so we’ll have to see.

      At very least, I hope you keep writing! Take care!

      Raegn

  2. A well made post, and one I entirely agree with. Serielle makes a good point here as well, the grind post Moria has lost it’s cunning veneer, and become a whole lot more obvious. I have avoided Lothlorien as much as possible, collecting orc crap was a wee bit too disheartening for me.

    Thanks for the read

  3. Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this webpage; this web site carries remarkable and in fact fine information for readers.

  4. Great blog you have here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  5. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  6. I am sure this article has touched all the internet users, its really really
    nice paragraph on building up new weblog.

  7. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental
    and all. But think of if you added some great images or video clips to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content
    is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could certainly be one of the very best in its field.
    Wonderful blog!

  8. Especially revealing….looking frontward to visiting again.

  9. Hello, for all time i used to check web site posts
    here in the early hours in the morning, as i like to find out more and more.

  10. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed
    reading it, you’re a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a
    nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

