Finding a Kin to Call My Own…

Quite a bit has happened to me in LotRO lately. Shortly after I started this blog I started student teaching at a local elementary school. I was gone for quite a while but did my best to check into Middle-Earth whenever I could. Unfortunately, that was only about once a month.

When I left, I was part of a great guild called The Council on Landroval. They had great structure and a community that I really clicked with. At some point during my absence, the kin-leader lost his ability to log into the game (I’m still not sure of the details). Once he was out of the picture, the guild fell into turmoil. One month, I left and everything was fine, the next month the kin members were left wandering around without direction, purpose, or any joining factor. When I look back at it now, we were like ants whose door to the colony had just been squashed by an obnoxious 8 year old.

OMG, OMG, OMG, Where’s the hole? Bill, do you know where the hole is? What do you MEAN we’re screwed? I’m carrying food damn it! FOOD! My date with the freaking QUEEN was tonight!

Or something like that. I logged onto the website to be greeted with a MOTD indicating that mass restructuring was underway but, at the time, there was no message as to why. I was left in the dark. After checking the forums, I wasn’t alone. A lot of people had no idea what was going on and no officer was willing to respond.

When I logged into the game the other night, it was much the same. No one knew what was going on and the only information we had was a brief letter in the mailbox saying the same thing as the website. Well, except the officer threw in an extra sentence to cheer us up.

“We all know the last few weeks have been ones of turmoil for the guild.”

Well, um, actually I guess. Kind of. We all knew there was some storm over our heads but no one could identify it as a funnel could.

It took a lot of asking around but I finally found out about the kin-leader. Following his leave, the officers decided that they wanted to change the structure and philosophy of the guild.

I believe that a person’s choice of guild is important. You choose a guild based on your own personal gaming philosophy. In my experience, when the ideals of guild and member don’t match, neither enjoys membership very much.

So, I bade the kin good luck and took my leave. I’ve since joined a kinship called The Council of the Secret Fire. I know, I have a thing with councils. But hey, if I can’t be in the fellowship, I may as well join a council darn it.

So far, it’s been a nice match. Their a jack of all trades, master of none, kinship which is okay. I’ll admit that the lack of structure makes me a little bit nervous but I tend to be that way when I’m considering what I may be interested in far in the future. Yet, this time, I’m focusing on the fact that I’ve had a lot of good experiences with the existing members. They’re a friendly kin and open to all walks of play. Right now, I’m letting that be enough and worrying about the future when it gets here.

So, there’s a brief rundown of recent events.

Oh, and I’m starting to get the itch to replace my Guardian with a Champion or Hunter. I’m going to hold off on that though, I think. When I played WoW (how long ago, now?) I delayed getting into the upper level content because I spent such time trying to level multiple characters at once. Let’s not fall into that trap again!

Talk to you soon!

4 Responses

  1. Hey, just found your blog via a comment on The Road Goes Ever On. Hope to see you continue your updates, despite a busy RL. I’ll throw you onto the blog roll over at the Adventurer.

    • Hey Jaxom,

      Thanks for stopping by! I appreciate the support. It’s funny, I was going to leave a comment on your blog last night but I wound up having to leave in a hurry. I appreciate the add to your blogroll, I’ve been a reader for some time 🙂

      Take Care,
      Raegn

  2. Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    I’m Out! 🙂

  3. Cheers for this post, I’ve learned a lot more now about world of warcraft! Your e-book was an huge aid. I hope you will post more of your guides!.

Leave a Reply

